Last Flight of 2013: JFK-CLT-ORF

“A man travels the world over in search of what he needs and returns home to find it.”
George Augustus Moore, The Brook Kerith

I boarded my last flight of 2013 today. I flew from New York to Charlotte and back into our little town of Norfolk. Ironically, I think I started the year by flying to New York…back in January…back many, many miles ago. While this wasn’t the heaviest of my flying years, I did manage to make a decent dent in my quest for a second million on United metal.

Thankfully today’s flights broke my recent record of horrificness. Although the giant man next to me from CLT-ORF wasn’t keen on staying confined to his own personal space, all my flights were on time and I barely wanted to beat anyone. In fact, with my Christmas blend Starbucks venti in hand, I was in a right old holiday spirit.

And now…instead of watching the Rockefeller tree lighting ceremony live from New York, or working late from yet another hotel room with a buzz on, I am curled up in my own bed, with my own husband, and my own dog. That big tree looks pretty damn bright from here.

Happy to be home. Home to be happy.