If You Hesitate Now; That’s a Subtraction

Let’s get moving into action
Let’s get moving into action
If your life’s too slow, no satisfaction
Find something out there, there’s an attraction
If you hesitate now, that’s a subtraction
So, let’s get moving girl, into action

~Tim Armstrong: Into Action

Conversations tend to take a different spin when you become a full-time stepmom for the summer. Last week was a perfect example. I was in the company of acquaintances one morning when the discussion turned to ‘camp’. Not the camping thing I am relatively familiar with, but rather the summertime sequestration thing for children.

Apparently camp has hierarchy, but we’ll dive into that drama at a later date. Anyway, we women do tend to get into some unique, and often useful topics – where to buy the best sports bras, the bane of waxing the day before a hard workout, or suggestions for healthy camp lunches. On this particular Saturday, the conversation went something like this:

Oh, you have child? How old? Me: My stepson is 10. And how old are you? Me: I’m 41. Sooooo, THAT is what 41 looks like when you’ve never had to birth your OWN kid!

gd-quitslacking

Sigh. No. Let me call a little bit of BS here. No, sorry to disappoint. I am NOT what 41 looks like because I haven’t given birth. I am NOT what 41 looks like because I was born thin. I am NOT what 41 looks like because genetics made me beautiful.

I AM what 41 looks like when you eat clean. I AM what 41 looks like because I give a damn. All day. I am what 41 looks like when you work out each and every day. Yes, every single day. Often twice a day. I am what 41 feels like because the food I put in, and the energy I exert makes my mind clearer. I am what 41 looks like because I am vain. I want my husband to think I am sexy, and I want strangers to covet. I AM what 41 can be because I want to wear pretty and expensive clothes. I am what 41 IS because I will be rocking this body at 51 and at 61.

I am this image of 41 because I care what goes in this body and how it feels. It is my only temple and I want it to look, feel, and be fabulous.

I am this version because I am mindful. It is not easy, but it is my choice. Seriously, I am a girl from Wisconsin and I recently gave up cheese. CHEESE! Choices. I am what 41 looks like because today this body is my temple, and someday soon it will be a work of art.

Mindful. Clean. Vain. Strong. Irrelevant. Choices.

Just get Moving Into Action.