It has to happen to everyone

Michael’s grandmother passed away yesterday. Although she hadn’t been well recently, it is still a sad situation. She was surrounded either in person or on the phone by her daughters, some friends and a priest. She was also able to hear from other family members right before, including Michael. To have so much love near you at the end is a fortunate thing. I hope it brought her peace.

Her death came on the heels of a rough weekend for us. I have often said that I can count on one hand the number of times that Michael and I have actually yelled at each other. I guess I finally need to include that other hand. It’s only fair to say that he didn’t do the actual high voltage verbal assaulting, but he was certainly privy to it. And quite deserving, if I do say so myself. Actually, we both deserved it.

While it is not fair to either of us to get into any of the specifics, I will just say that I am thankful this weekend came to a close. I am also thankful that we made the right decisions and all will be right with the world. Well, I thought that before Monday, and then Tuesday came, and well…oy. Let me rephrase my thankfulness and say that I am grateful Michael and I got through our stuff over the weekend, or I am not certain I could effectively handle this week.

For that I am truly thankful.